Get real-life, hands-on experience

T-Levels are new courses for post-16 students which can be taken after your GCSEs and are equivalent to three A levels.

The 2-year course offers a combination of classroom and workplace learning, designed with employers, to give you the skills that industries need.

T-levels are ideal for you know if you want to get hands-on experience and learn skills that will get you a job in a technical profession, for example, engineering, science, accountancy, or media.

To succeed in your chosen T-level, you need to show technical knowledge, specific learned abilities, concepts, and skills for the industry area, and a basic working knowledge of the occupations and career path in your chosen field.


Every T-Level course includes an on-the-job industry placement with an employer, with 315 hours (approximately 45 days) of content and training within your chosen sector, either as day release or a block of days together. Workplace learning focuses on developing the practical and technical skills you need.

T-levels are supported by The Education and Skills Funding Agency (ESFA) and National Apprenticeship Service (part of ESFA), working with employers to design the industry placement around the student.

T-level courses and timeline

We will start delivering T-levels from 2023.

How are T-levels different to an apprenticeship?

T-Levels are based on the same principle as apprenticeships, however where an apprenticeship is typically 80% on-the-job and 20% in the classroom, T-levels are more classroom based, but are combined with an industry placement. The total time for the 2-year T-Level course is 1,800 hours, a significant increase on current technical education courses.

Are T-levels a recognised qualification?

Yes, all T-level courses are designed by employers and approved by the Institute for Apprenticeships and Technical Education.

On completion of the T-level course, you receive an overall grade of pass, merit, or distinction. This is a nationally recognised certificate that shows your overall grade and a breakdown of what you have achieved (called a statement of achievement).

The T-Level certificate includes:

  • an overall grade for the T Level, shown as pass, merit, distinction or distinction
  • a separate grade for the core component, using A* to E
  • a separate grade for each occupational specialism, shown as pass, merit or distinction

The certificate also confirms that you have:

  • completed the industry placement
  • met any additional mandatory requirements

Maths and English qualification up to level 2 are also referenced on the T-Level certificate and the statement of achievement.

After completing the T-level, you have several options: skilled employment, an apprenticeship, or higher education.

Do T-levels qualify for UCAS points?

Yes, to help T-Level students move into higher education, UCAS tariff points are allocated to T-Levels.

UCAS points are only allocated to the overall T-Level grade, so you must achieve at least an overall pass grade to receive UCAS points.

What can I do next?

Once you have achieved your T-Level qualification, you have the option to apply and study at university, attain a higher or degree level apprenticeship, or move into relevant skilled employment.

When can I apply to do T-levels?

To be accepted onto a T-level course you need to be aged 16-18 and have a Maths and English GCSE at Grade 4 or above or be working towards them.

T-Level courses are being introduced gradually around the country, and CCCG will be launching our new T-levels from September 2023. You will be able to apply through our application portal, so keep checking our website for updates!

Discover the full range of course on offer at Capital City College Group

Watch this short video from the Department for Education for a summary of what are the benefits of doing a T-level.