Accessibility & Translation

Jack Petchey Award Winners Celebration

On 15 January 2020, our award winners from City and Islington College attended the annual Jack Petchey Foundation Presentation Evening.

Jack Petchey Award Winners Celebration

The winners’ nominations were read out in front of a large audience at Islington Assembly Hall as they received their medallions and shook hands with Mayor of Islington, Rakhia Ismail. It was an exciting evening that allowed both students and staff to be recognised within the local community.

The Jack Petchey Foundation was “set up to inspire and motivate young people across London and Essex by providing exciting projects and programmes for them to get involved in.” They “also recognise the outstanding achievements of today’s young people by awarding them for their hard work and positive impact in their community.”

Award winner Harry O’Connell told us: “I was ecstatic to win the Jack Petchey award. To see that my work is valued and appreciated with a Jack Petchey award is very uplifting and inspiring and I’ll continue to keep at it.”

Harry’s award followed his work on regular Open Mic events at the Sixth Form, promoting a number of good causes.

Well done once again to each of our 2019 winners for their achievements:

Student Achievement winners (Centre for Applied Sciences)
Zahra Gaal, Laura Bido Cruz, AnthoniaTara Ilesanmi, Ryan Dawson, Charlie O’Connell, Jacob Larsen and Lauryn Wasiama

Staff Leader Award winner (Centre for Applied Sciences)
Dawn Platten

Student Achievement winners (Sixth Form College)
Harry O’Connell, Nkemdilim Anisiobi, Mason Clancy, Hollie Peterson, Ryan Fluin, Giada Toppo, Alex Charlton, Katherine Chan and Habel Moges

Staff Leader Award winner (Sixth Form College)
Mike Govender

Student Achievement winners (Centre for Business Arts and Technology) 
Mia Benson, Naveena Dhera, Lucky Mugala, Kinga Matyja, Antone Louis, Shakila Tasnim Uddin, Alex Fernando Altamirano, Samuel Spencer and Ibrahim Kuntas and Jade James

Staff Leader Award winner (Centre for Business Arts and Technology)
Anne Farrell

Student Achievement winners (Centre for Health and Social Care)
Asen Ivanov, Nikolay Tirov, Kolawole Oni, Sherri Ugurlu, Foibe Nehemia, Anne-Marie Deterville, Levy Marlone Mbungu, Caiyle Eagar Lowe and Jardel Joyeux Arnele O. Reid

Staff Leader Award winner (Centre for Health and Social Care)
Dyana Altenor

Student Achievement winners (Centre for Lifelong Learning)
Revel Ancara Thompson , Alexander Martins, Harley Adamou, Valentina Quiros, Luiz Felipe Almeida, Ci Shan Joey Lee, Mark Oluwayemisi Joseph, Bianka Kulicsek and Siar Kanik

Staff Leader Award winner (Centre for Lifelong Learning)
Jane Broderick


Queen's Award for Enterprise