Accessibility & Translation

CONEL Excellence Awards 2018

The College of Haringey, Enfield and North East London celebrated their staff, students and employers last night at the annual Excellence Awards, to recognise their hard work and dedication throughout the year. Almost 300 people attended the awards ceremony, at CONEL’s Tottenham Centre.

The ceremony began at 7pm with a performance from B2R, a group of The College of Haringey, Enfield and North East London students, covering “Rude” by MAGIC!

Compere for the evening, Reverend Nims Obunge, invited CONEL’s Interim Principal, Kurt Hintz, on stage. Kurt delivered an encouraging recap of the year, congratulating award winners for “shining the brightest” in their discipline.

Kurt Hintz on stage

Nims then returned to stage, handing awards to employer partners, long service staff and staff excellence awards.

The interlude performance by Westminster Kingsway College student Paulo Reiss, who sung his own song – “Can’t Stop.”

Attendees were inspired by a speech from alum Pat Akwenuke about her journey from apprentice at CONEL to owner of a successful childcare business.

After the break, Rev. Obunge continued with the progression of the ceremony. Students received trophies to celebrate their achievements, coupled with short statements from the teachers and tutors who had made nominations.

The ceremony ended on a softer note, with the presentation of the Paul Head Award, taking its name from the late former Principal of the college. Potchu Mendes Calucane received the award for his efforts as an athlete, captaining the college’s football academy throughout the last academic year.

Potchu receiving his award

The ceremony was closed by a speech from Sarah Ebanja, Chair of the CONEL Local Advisory Board and a Capital City College Group Governor.

Kurt Hintz said: “The Excellence Awards is always my favourite night of the year where we get reminded of how brilliant our students really are! A wonderful evening oozing with talent and energy, congratulations to all the award winners.”


Queen's Award for Enterprise