Accessibility & Translation

Frequently Asked Questions (T Levels)

You may have lots of questions about the brand new T Level offering, here we answer some of your frequently asked questions.

What is a T Level?

A T Level is a 2-year course that combines classroom and practical learning and industry experience to learn the skills and experience needed to succeed in a skilled profession or to progress to more advanced technical education or training. This course is designed for aged 16 learners who have finished their GCSEs and progressing on to study. A T Level is an alternative option to A Levels, Vocational Courses and Apprenticeships.

Employers have helped design these courses with real-life experiences, on-the-job training, and influences into the study programme to provide learners with the industry knowledge, and core skills and develop the confidence needed to enter technical employment.

Learners who pass their T Levels receive a certificate for their specialism.

See our Equivalence Table below of the different course levels needed depending on career levels.

Frequently Asked Questions (T Levels)

How are T Levels different to an Apprenticeship?

T Levels are based on the same principle as Apprenticeships, however, where an Apprenticeship is typically 80% on-the-job and 20% in the classroom, T Levels are more classroom-based but are combined with an industry placement. The total time for the 2-year T Level course is approx. 1,800 hours, a significant increase on current technical education courses.

Are T Levels a recognised qualification?

Yes, all T Level courses are designed by employers and approved by the Institute for Apprenticeships and Technical Education.

On completion of the T Level course, you receive an overall grade of pass, merit, or distinction. This is a nationally recognised certificate that shows your overall grade and a breakdown of what you have achieved (called a statement of achievement).

The T Level certificate includes:

  • an overall grade for the T Level, shown as pass, merit, distinction or distinction
  • a separate grade for the core component, using A* to E
  • a separate grade for each occupational specialism, shown as pass, merit or distinction

The certificate also confirms that you have:

  • completed the industry placement
  • met any additional mandatory requirements

Maths and English qualifications up to level 2 are also referenced on the T Level certificate and the statement of achievement.

After completing the T Level, you have several options: skilled employment, an apprenticeship, or higher education.

How are T Levels assessed?

T Levels assessment combines examinations on core skills, with practical skills tests including portfolios, group work, practical projects, and on-the-job tasks set by the employer. T Levels are graded A* – E which is the same as A Levels. There are 3 main development areas:

CORE – Knowledge and understanding

  • Provides content relevant to the course
  • Contexts, concepts, theories, and principles

CORE – Employer set project

  • Skills required to develop a substantial piece of work in response to an employer-set brief
  • Opportunity to develop and apply core skills for employability

Occupational specialist content

  • Knowledge and skills necessary for employment
  • Organised around performance outcomes

Can I go to university after completing a T Level?

Yes, to help T Level students move into higher education, UCAS tariff points are allocated to T Levels, which means you can use these UCAS points to progress on to University. The UCAS points are equivalent to those taking 3 A Levels or Vocational (BTEC) courses.

UCAS points are only allocated to the overall T Level grade, so you must achieve at least an overall pass grade to receive UCAS points.

What can I do next?

Once you have achieved your T Level qualification, you have the option to apply and study at university, attain a higher or degree-level apprenticeship, or move into relevant skilled employment.

When can I apply to do a T Level?

To be accepted onto a T Level course you need to be aged 16-18 and have a Maths and English GCSE at Grade 4 or above or be working towards them.

T Level courses are being introduced gradually around the country, and CCCG will be launching our new T Levels from September 2023. You will be able to apply through our application portal, so keep checking our website for updates!

Queen's Award for Enterprise